Description of Jain Flag

Flag of Jains

The flag of Jainism was first mentioned in a holy text dating 5th century BC. It has five colours: White, Red, Orange, Green and Dark Blue (or Black).
It is also believed that the complexion of all the 24 Tirthankaras was of one of these 5 colours. For instance, Chandraprabha and Pushpadanta were white, Munisuvrata and Neminatha were of blue or dark colour, Padmaprabha and Vasupujya were of the Red colour, Suparshvanath and Parshva were green while the remaining were of gold or yellowish colour.

These five colours represent the Pañca-Parameṣṭhi
White represents Arihants (souls who have reached the state of non-attachment towards worldly process). It also denotes peace or non-violence
Red represents Siddha (Souls which attain Salvation i.e. liberated souls) and also Truth.
Orange represents Acharya (Head of Jain Sect)
Green represents Upadhayay [those who teach scriptures to sadhus and sadhvis i.e. Religious Professors within sect]. It also signifies abstinence.
Dark Blue (or Black) represents Sadhus and Sadhvis (Monks & Nuns) and non-possession or aparigrah
There is the swastika in the centre of the flag. It represents the four states of existence of life. The three dots above the swastika represent the Ratnatraya or “three jewels” of Jainism: Samyak darshan “Right Faith”, Samyak Gyan “Right Knowledge”, and Samyak Charitra “Right Conduct”.
Respect for Jain Flag is respect for Pañca-Parameṣṭhi. According to Jainism, respect for Pañca-Parameṣṭhi destroys the sorrow of the four states of existence and finally guides one to the sweet home of infinite bliss and pleasure.

Leave a Reply